By Carter Gil de Rubio

What a night for Chase Elliott. Not only did he win the NASCAR Trucks Series race Tuesday, May 26, at Charlotte Motor Speedway, but he did so by getting the best of Kyle Busch and picking up a $100,000 bounty in the process.

Busch had won seven consecutive Truck Series races, leading Kevin Harvick to put up a $50,000 bounty that was matched by Gander RV & Outdoors CEO Marcus Lemonis for any full-time Cup Series driver who could finish ahead of Busch. The bounty will go to a charity of Elliott’s choice to benefit Covid-19 relief efforts.

Elliott had extra motivation to star as NASCAR’s Bounty Hunter and accepted Harvick’s challenge. His triumph came six days after Busch clipped the back of his car in a Cup Series race at Darlington Raceway, sending him into the wall and out of a race he had a chance to win. Then, on Sunday, Elliott’s decision to pit late in the Coca-Cola 600 opened the door for Brad Keselowski to take the checkered flag.

“It doesn’t make up for Sunday,” Elliott told FS1, “but it was still a really good night, and to do some good for the relief efforts for this virus.”

Following Busch in third place was Zane Smith. Brett Moffitt finished fourth and Sheldon Creed rounded out the top five.

Busch, the most successful Trucks Series driver in history with 57 victories, grabbed the lead on lap 69. But after he pitted with 34 laps to run he dropped to 23rd place and never regained the lead, although he charged through the field for the runner-up finish.

That left it up to Elliott to bask in his redemption by imitating Busch’s victory celebration after the race and bowing to the camera.

“Imitation is the strongest form of flattery or something, I don’t know what it is,” Busch said. “That’s cute.”

The next Trucks Series race will be Saturday, June 6, at Atlanta Motor Speedway for the Vet Tix/Camping World 200. It will be broadcast on FS1 at 1 p.m.

North Carolina Education Lottery 200 results

1. Chase Elliott 2. Kyle Busch 3. Zane Smith 4. Brett Moffitt 5. Sheldon Creed 6. John Hunter Nemechek 7. Johnny Sauter 8. Ty Majeski 9. Austin Hill 10. Ben Rhodes 11. Ross Chastain 12. Grant Enfinger 13. Tyler Ankrum 14. Christian Eckes 15. Raphael Lessard 16. Derek Kraus 17. Tate Fogleman 18. Codie Rohrbraugh 19. Austin Wayne Self 20. Tanner Gray 21. Jesse Little 22. Timmy Hill 23. Angela Ruch 24. Korbin Forrister 25. Spencer Boyd 26. Jennifer Jo Cobb 27. Natalie Decker 28. Bayley Currey 29. Clay Greenfield 30. Stewart Friensen 31. Jordan Anderson 32. Cory Roper 33. TJ Bell

34. Bryan Dauzat 35. Matt Crafton 36. Garrett Smithley 37. Todd Gilliland 38. Brennan Poole 39. Jesse Iwuji 40. Spencer Davis

Recommend0 recommendationsPublished in Stock Car Scene Daily, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply